WIE-YI T. LAUW, ROBERTO URIBE CASTRO UND MICHAEL STOCKHAUSEN


Zoom-Gespräch mit Wie-yi T. Lauw, Michael Stockhausen und Roberto Uribe Castro
WIE-YI T. LAUW, ROBERTO URIBE CASTRO UND MICHAEL STOCKHAUSEN

The artists Wie-yi T. Lauw and Roberto Uribe Castro talk with the art historian Michael Stockhausen not only about their works in the exhibition, but also about their way to art and in art and last but not least about their joint work “Even Dust can burst into flames”.

Wie-yi T. Lauw: Dunkle Paarung i

The artist Wie-yi T. Lauw lives and works in Berlin. Wie-yi T. Lauw’s photographic works Dunkle Paarung II and installation Dunkle Paarung I deal with interconnections and the consequences of colonialism. The artist questions the interplay of identity and memory, of cultural heritage in the digital-global age. About Dunkle Paarung I, the tall installation in the large exhibition space, art historian Lynn Busch writes: “The images of cultural inscription and superimposition arise precisely in the impossibility of disentangling the materials. The net is no longer solely a symbol of capture, but becomes a carrier of the Other. At the same time, it retains its dominant position precisely through this function of the carrier: the net not only determines the formation and arrangement of the individual flowers, it also decides on a before and behind, an outside and inside: it becomes a border site.”

Roberto Uribe Castro: Seringuieros (at the wall works from Bruno Hadjih and Rie Tanji)

Berlin-based Roberto Uribe Castro investigates the persistence of colonial testimonies, using materials and elements linked to the site to make forgotten historical events visible. In his installation Seringueiros, he refers to the history of rubber workers linked to the everyday object of car tires. However, the exploitation of people and nature for industrial production is hardly known.

Wie-yi T. Lauw und Roberto Uribe Castro: Even Dust can burst into flames (part of room view)

REDRAW TRAGEDY also features his collaboration with Wie-yi T. Lauw Even dust can burst into flames, which addresses the 2017 forest fires in Portugal. His participatory project Quarantine Diaries is also part of the exhibition. His social media action, created during the first Corona wave, collects photos of soaps from all over the world.

Michael Stockhausen studied art history and literature. Since 2014, he has been teaching at the Institute of Art History at the University of Bonn, among other places, with a focus on modern and contemporary art as well as art theory. He lives and works in Bonn.

He conceived and directed various exhibitions and event formats, writes artist texts, catalog articles, and reviews.

The joy of discussion and thinking with art determine his curatorial approach. He enriches exhibition and digital program with critical thoughts in word and text.

Websites:

Wie-yi T. Lauw: https://wieyi.at/

Roberto Uribe Castro: http://www.robertouribecastro.de/en



Roberto Uribe Castro: Seringueiros
At the background: Wie-yi T. Lauw, Hiroyuki Kobayashi, Rie Tanji
Wie-yi T. Lauw: Detail from Dunkle Paarung i
Roberto Uribe Castro: Detail from Seringuieros

WIE-YI T. LAUW, ROBERTO URIBE CASTRO UND MICHAEL STOCKHAUSEN


Zoom-Gespräch mit Wie-yi T. Lauw, Michael Stockhausen und Roberto Uribe Castro
WIE-YI T. LAUW, ROBERTO URIBE CASTRO UND MICHAEL STOCKHAUSEN

Die Künstler:innen Wie-yi T. Lauw und Roberto Uribe Castro sprechen mit dem Kunsthistoriker Michael Stockhausen nicht nur über ihre Arbeiten in der Ausstellung, sondern auch über ihren Weg zur Kunst und in der Kunst und nicht zuletzt über ihre gemeinsame Arbeit „Even Dust can burst into flames“.

Wie-yi T. Lauw: Dunkle Paarung i

Die Künstlerin Wie-yi T. Lauw lebt und arbeitet in Berlin. Wie-yi T. Lauws gezeigte Fotoarbeiten Dunkle Paarung II und Installation Dunkle Paarung I handeln von Verflechtungen und den Folgen von Kolonialismus. Die Künstlerin fragt nach dem Zusammenspiel von Identität und Erinnerung, nach kulturellem Erbe im digital-globalen Zeitalter. Über Dunkle Paarung I, die hohe Installation im großen Ausstellungsraum schreibt die Kunsthistorikerin Lynn Busch: „Die Bilder kultureller Einschreibung und Überlagerung entstehen gerade in der Unmöglichkeit die Materialien zu entwirren. Das Netz ist nicht mehr allein Symbol der Gefangennahme, sondern wird zum Träger des Anderen. Gleichzeitig behält es gerade durch diese Funktion der Tragfläche seine dominante Stellung: Das Netz bestimmt nicht nur Formation und Anordnung der einzelnen Blumen, auch entscheidet es über ein Davor und Dahinter, ein Außen und Innen: es wird zum Grenzort.“

Roberto Uribe Castro: Seringuieros (an den Wänden Arbeiten von Bruno Hadjih und Rie Tanji)

Der in Berlin lebende Roberto Uribe Castro untersucht das Fortbestehen kolonialer Zeugnisse und nutzt dafür Materialien und Elemente die mit dem Ort verknüpft sind, um vergessene historische Ereignisse sichtbar zu machen. In seiner Installation Seringueiros verweist er auf die Geschichte der Kautschukarbeiter, die mit dem alltäglich gebrauchten Gegenstand Autoreifen verbunden sind. Die Ausbeutung von Mensch und Natur für die industrielle Produktion  ist aber kaum bekannt.

Wie-yi T. Lauw und Roberto Uribe Castro: Even Dust can burst into flames (Teil-Raumansicht)

REDRAW TRAGEDY zeigt außerdem seine Zusammenarbeit mit Wie-yi T. Lauw Even dust can burst into flames, die sich mit den Waldbränden in Portugal 2017 auseinandersetzt. Auch sein partizipatives Projekt Quarantine Diaries ist Teil der Ausstellung. Seine während der ersten Corona-Welle entstandene Social-Media-Media-Aktion sammelt Fotos von Seifen weltweit.

Michael Stockhausen studierte Kunstgeschichte sowie Literaturwissenschaften. Seit 2014 lehrt er unter anderem am Kunsthistorischen Institut der Universität Bonn mit den Schwerpunkten moderne und zeitgenössische Kunst sowie Kunsttheorie. Er lebt und arbeitet in Bonn.

Er konzipierte und leitete verschiedene Ausstellungen und Veranstaltungsformate, schreibt Künstlertexte, Katalogbeiträge und Rezensionen.

Diskussionsfreude und das Denken mit der Kunst bestimmen seine kuratorische Herangehensweise. Ausstellung und Digitalprogramm bereichert er mit kritischen Gedanken in Wort und Text.

Websites:

Wie-yi T. Lauw: https://wieyi.at/

Roberto Uribe Castro: http://www.robertouribecastro.de/en



Roberto Uribe Castro: Seringueiros
Im Hintergrund: Wie-yi T. Lauw, Hiroyuki Kobayashi, Rie Tanji
Wie-yi T. Lauw: Detail aus Dunkle Paarung i
Roberto Uribe Castro: Detail aus Seringuieros